Board of Directors and Executive Management


Board of Directors and Executive Management


Ieuan Griffiths (Chairman)

Ieuan joined the Board in May 2015 and was appointed Chairman in April 2018. He is a Chartered Accountant and a member of CIPFA. He was Director of Strategy and Finance at the DVLA for 12 years and previously Deputy Director of Finance and Performance for the NHS in England and Wales.  He worked for 20 years for major accountancy firms in audit, computer audit and consultancy for IT and business strategy.

Alun Williams (Chief Executive)

Alun joined the Society in May 2001 as Director and Chief Executive. Prior to his appointment, he had spent 20 years in retail, business and corporate banking starting with Williams & Glyns Bank Plc and subsequently Bank of Wales Plc. He is a member of the Assets & Liabilities, Risk, Conduct and IT Committees.

Paula Kathrens

Paula was appointed to the Board in July 2013. Paula is a partner with law firm Blake Morgan based in their Cardiff office and specialises in employment law. She advises organisations in both the public and private sectors, including a number of financial institutions, on all aspects of contentious and non contentious employment law. Paula is Chair of the Remuneration and Nominations Committee  and a member of the Risk Committee.

Jeff Herdman

Jeff joined the Board in May 2014. He has held senior positions in the risk and insurance industry over a 30 year career. Following a period as Branch manager of the Midshires Building Society in Swansea he set up his own Financial services and insurance advisory service. Following the successful sale of that business he moved to the UK Board of international brokers Willis. He eventually became Group MD of UK Broker Oval. He is Chair of the Risk Committee and a member of the Assets & Liabilities, Remunerations & Nominations and Conduct Committees.

Stephen Maddock

Stephen joined the Board in May 2016 and was appointed Deputy Chairman in May 2019. He is a Chartered Accountant and a Fellow of ICAEW. He started his career at the Swansea office of accountancy firm Deloitte Haskins & Sells and after qualifying, he joined Coopers & Lybrand, now PwC. Before taking early retirement, he was Director of Financial Shared Services for Tata Steel Europe. He chairs the Assets and Liabilities Committee and is a member of the Audit Committee.

John Union

John was appointed to the Board in November 2017. He held several senior roles during a long career with Barclays including as Head of Swansea, Mid and West Wales Corporate Banking and as Head of Wales, Corporate Banking. He is Vice Chair of Cadwyn Housing Association and an Independent Member (Finance) at Cardiff and Vale University Health Board. He is Chair of the Audit Committee and a member of the Assets and Liabilities and the IT Committees.

Andrew Morgan

Andrew joined the Board in January 2019. He is a Chartered Surveyor with over 35 years experience in practice within the Mid, West and South West regions of Wales and is a founding partner of Morgan & Davies Estate Agents. He is a member of the Remunerations & Nominations and Audit Committees.

Nathan Griffiths

Nathan joined the Society in July 2019 as Finance Director. He is a Chartered Accountant and prior to his appointment had spent 8 years at Deloitte specialising in providing assurance services to the bank and building society sector. He subsequently spent 4 years at Monmouthshire Building Society as Financial Controller. He is a member of the Assets & Liabilities and Risk Committees and Chairs the IT Committee.